Real Real Gone

[100/100]

Michael Maupin
2 min readMay 24, 2017
The Vicious Frieze I (1987) II (1988) and III (1989) were of a time. This is of its own time.

Gratitude.

That’s the word of the day.

I took some time last night to review the span of this Medium project, 100 Days of Words and Art, and that’s my main takeaway.

Gratitude for all the gifts people have shared with me, from the beginning (1/100 “Question Everything”) through my late father’s Architectural Graphic Standards posts, to the “confusing 30s, 40s” of wind and walking and drawing and feeling insecure the whole time, Cheshire dreams and Luxury Toasters, The Bubble, stream-of-consciousness and more insecurity … to where we’ve now arrived.

The Grateful End.

Thank you, dear readers, for following along. I couldn’t have kept going without the favorites and likes and shares. It made a difference to me. I knew I had my own work, but knowing you were there was super cool.

I head back to Completely in the Dark at WordPress with an all-new post this Friday. Then I start drafting a longer-form book-length project, and researching adult education opportunities both as an instructor and a lifelong learner. This is a totally different vibe from when this project started.

So, let’s light up all the Luckies

…and crank up the afterglow…

See you this evening at Merlin’s Rest, where I will be drawing the 100th post (below).

…As Ray Charles said, “I believe to my soul,” then Otis Redding said, “Soft words spoke so gentle, yeah, it makes it easier, easier to bear,” then Wilson Pickett said, “In the midnight hour, that’s when my love comes tumblin’ down,” Solomon Burke said, “If you need me, why don’t you call me?” James Brown said, “When you’re tired of what you got, try me,” Gene Chandler said, “There’s a rainbow in my soul…

…and we come full circle.

*fade out*

100 Days of Words and Art for Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Thanks for stopping by! If you like what you’ve read, please share with your friends, and give some love to the little heart button below.

--

--

Michael Maupin

Writer, editor, and media maker. Blogs at Completely in the Dark (www.completelydark.com) and lives in Minneapolis, MN. Currently on Substack at StoryShed.